Herrando | Eight toccatas for violin and bass DIGITAL

José Herrando (ca. 1720-1763) - Eight toccatas for violin and bass

113 pages. 2021 ISMN 979-0-805453-02-6 (PDF)

Also available in paperback edition

Instrumental parts available on demand.

31,73 €

The eight violin sonatas by José Herrando published in this volume were originally preserved in the Palacio de Liria, owned by the Dukes of Alba, copied in an 18th century manuscript entitled Doce tocatas a solo de violín y bajo para el Ex[elentísi]mo S[eño]r Duque de Huéscar. Unfortunately, this manuscript, along with other Herrando compositions, was destroyed in a fire that occurred in 1936, during the Spanish Civil War.

Fortunately, in 1928 the musicologist José Subirá, who had studied the musical documents kept in the Palacio de Liria, copied  the first eight sonatas of the manuscript. Thanks to this copy, now kept in the "Fondo José Subirá" of the Library of Catalonia (Barcelona), we can present this edition.


Sonata I

Allegro - Adagio non molto - Allegro

Sonata II

Allegro - Adagio - Allegro

Sonata III

Allegro - Adagio - Allegro

Sonata IIII

Allegretto - Adagio - Allegro

Sonata V

Allegretto - Andante - Fuga

Sonata VI

[Moderato] - Adagio - Aire de Minuet

Sonata VII

Adagio - Allegretto - Andante - Allegro assai

Sonata VIII

Adagio - Allegro - Andantino - Allegro

Related Products