Durón, Navas | Apolo y Dafne DIGITAL

Sebastián Durón (1660-1716) and Juan de Navas (1647-1719) - Apolo y Dafne. Zarzuela

318 pages 2017 ISMN 979-0-805412-11-5 (PDF)

Also available in paperback edition

Instrumental parts available on demand.

56,73 €

In this volume of the collection "Musica escenica" we publish one of the most important works of the genre that has been called "zarzuela mitologica" (mythological zarzuela). Apolo y Dafne is an ambitious, long and fully sung zarzuela, which links the work with Coronis, another fully sung zarzuela composed by Sebastián Durón (1660-1716), chapel master of the Royal Chapel of Philip V. Apolo y Dafne was composed by two musicians: the mentioned Sebastian Duron and Juan de Navas (1647-1719). Navas was a harpist of the Royal Chapel and one of the main composers of theatre music from the late seventeenth century and early eighteenth century.

Orchestra and choir: 2 oboes, 2 trumpets, 2 violins and bc; SSAT choir (first act) and SSST choir (second act).


- Dafne, soprano
- Apolo, soprano
Amor, soprano
- Sirene, soprano
- Joante, soprano
- Lizeta, soprano
- Rústico, soprano

Related Products