Brunetti | Violin sonatas Vol. 8

Cayetano Brunetti (1744-1798) - Violin sonatas Vol. 8

157 pages. 2022 ISMN 979-0-805453-28-6 (paperback)

Also available in digital format (PDF)

Instrumental parts available on demand.

38,46 €

Cayetano (or Gaetano) Brunetti is one of the most important composers of the second half of the 18th century in Spain. His work comprises chamber music (sonatas for violin, duos, trios, quartets, quintets, sextets) and symphonic music. He worked for the most important Spanish nobility (the dukes of Osuna and the dukes of Alba). Brunetti composed mainly for the Prince of Asturias, the future Charles IV, being his violin master, chamber musician and, finally, director of the orchestra of the Real Cámara.

We publish in this volume the last eleven violin sonatas that Cayetano Brunetti composed expressly for the use of the Prince of Asturias (future Carlos IV). Although the collection consisted of twenty-four sonatas, unfortunately two of them (VI and XXIII) have been lost, reaching us twenty-two. Brunetti's autograph scores (twelve) and scores copied by Francisco Mencía (twenty-two), a copyist who worked for the Prince of Asturias, have been preserved. The collection of sonatas made expressly for the use of the Prince of Asturias must have been composed in the years 1781 and 1782.


Sonata XIII (L 53)

Allegretto con Moto - Andantino - Allegro con Maestà

Sonata XIIII (L 54)

Allegro Moderato e espressivo - Larghetto Cantabile - Allegro Non Molto

Sonata XV (L 55)

Allegro Moderato - Largo Maestoso - Tempo di Minuetto - Rondeau. Allegretto

Sonata XVI (L 56) 

Allegro Moderato espressivo - Andantino con Moto ma semplicemente sonato - Andantino con variazioni - Finale. Prestissimo

Sonata XVII (L 57)

Allegro vivace - Andante cantabile - Tempo di Minuetto. Amoroso

Sonata XVIII (L 58)

Allegro Moderato espressivo - Andantino - Allegro

Sonata XIX (L 59)

Allegro Comodo e espressivo - Andantino - Allegretto Gracioso

Sonata XX (L 60)

Allegro comodo - Andantino Grazioso - Allegro e con spirito

Sonata XXI (L 61)

Allegro Affettuoso - Cantabile - Rondeau. Allegretto

Sonata XXII (L 62)

Allegro - Andantino con Moto. Variato - Allegro di Molto

Sonata XXIV (L 63)

Allegro Moderato - Andantino Grazioso - Rondeau. Allegretto e Gracioso

Related Products