Brunetti | Symphony in c minor «Il Maniatico» DIGITAL

Cayetano Brunetti (1744-1798) - Symphony in c minor «Il Maniatico»  L 322

53 pages. ISMN 979-0-805412-25-2 (PDF)

Also available in paperback edition

Instrumental parts available on demand.

19,23 €

Cayetano (or Gaetano) Brunetti is one of the most important composers of the second half of the 18th century in Spain. His work includes chamber music (sonatas for violin, duos, trios, quartets, quintets, sextets) and symphonic music. He worked for the most important Spanish nobility (the dukes of Osuna and the dukes of Alba). Brunetti composed mainly for the Prince of Asturias, future Charles IV, working as his violin master, chamber musician, and eventually becoming director of the orchestra of the Real Camara.

"Il Maniatico", composed in 1780, is a programmatic symphony that introduces a maniac (performed by the solo cello) who is possessed by a mania, a recurrent musical motif. His friends (the other instruments) try to eliminate his obsession by offering diverse motives to him.

Orchestra: 2 oboes, 2 French horns, bassoon, 2 violins, viola, solo cello  and bass.

Introduzione. Largo, Andantino – Allegro – Quintetto Allegretto – Allegro Spiritoso, Andantino, Allegro Spiritoso


Related Products