Brunetti | 6 Sestetti a due violini, oboe, due viole e violoncello

Cayetano Brunetti (1744-1798) - 6 Sestetti a due violini, oboe, due viole e basso

249 pages. ISMN 979-0-805412-80-1 (paperback)

Also available in digital format (PDF)

Instrumental parts available on demand.

53,85 €

Cayetano (or Gaetano) Brunetti is one of the most important composers of the second half of the 18th-century in Spain. His work includes plenty of chamber music (solo violin sonatas, duets, trios, quartets, quintets, sextets) and symphonic music. He worked for the most important Spanish noble houses (the Dukes of Osuna and the Dukes of Alba). He mainly composed for the Prince of Asturias, future Carlos IV, being his violin teacher, musician of his chamber and, finally, conductor of the orchestra of the Royal Chamber.

The six oboe sextets (L 273-278) were composed between 1796 and 1798. The oboe part was written for the oboist Gaspar Barli (+1826), known in his time for his agility, his round sound emission in pianos and for reaching extraordinary high notes.

Scoring: oboe, 2 violins, 2 violas and cello

Sestetto I (L 273) 
Largo / Allegro comodo – Larghetto sostenutto – Finale. Allegretto

Sestetto II (L 274)

Allegro moderato – Andantino con moto – Thema con Variacioni

Sestetto III (L 275)

Larghetto sostenutto / Allegro vivace – Andantino gracioso con moto – Finale. Allegro moderato

Sestetto IV (L 276) 
Allegro moderato – Andantino – Finale. Allegretto

Sestetto V (L 277) 
Largo sostenutto / Allegro moderato – Andantino con moto, espressivo – Thema con Variacioni. Andantino con moto

Sestetto VI (L 278) 
Allegro moderato – Andantino con moto – Thema con Variacioni. Andantino

Related Products